Review of Early One Morning

Home » Review of Early One Morning


Author: Mem Fox
Illustrator: Christine Davenier
Publisher: Penguin
Age Range: Early childhood, toddlers, early primary
Themes: Farm animals, visual literacy, repetition

Click on ‘Buy from Booktopia’ when shopping online in Australia to #supportaustralian. Apple, Amazon and Book Depository options for overseas & eBook purchases. Purchase in store from your local independent bookstore where possible #supportlocal.


Mem Fox needs no introduction – who hasn’t been begged to read, ‘Where is the Green Sheep’, ‘The Magic Hat‘, ‘Time for Bed‘ – or indeed ANY of her beloved titles again and again by little fans? As heavy lids try to resist shutting during bedtime reading, it is often Mem’s gentle text sending them into dreamland.

The iconic Australian children’s author has now teamed up with yet another talented illustrator – this time Christine Davenier – and their new book, ‘Early One Morning‘ has now hit bookstore shelves.

The lovely Clare Mellor – a fellow librarian, bookworm, mother and all round good human – brings us this review.

Thanks Clare!


‘Early One Morning ‘


When I saw the cheerful cover of ‘Early One Morning‘, I knew I would LOVE this book! I grew up reading Mem Fox classics such as ‘Possum Magic’, ‘Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge’ and ‘Koala Lou’ with my parents. Now I am a parent myself, I adore reading ‘Where Is The Green Sheep, ‘Ducks Away’ and Baby Bedtime with my son. I love that Mem Fox’s books have entertained children over different generations!

Early One Morning follows a young boy as he searches his farm for breakfast…

He came to a gate…
but gates don’t lay them
He came to a truck,
but trucks don’t lay them

Adults reading the book know immediately that he is looking for eggs in the henhouse! The real fun is the journey with your little one. Guessing can be fun! I LOVE a picture book that encourages interaction between parent and child. Whilst reading this book to my son, we practiced animal sounds as we followed the little boy around the farm. 

My son is a little young to know what a hen and a henhouse is, but he LOVED the vibrant illustrations! Christine Davenier’s charming watercolours are a wonderful accompaniment to Mem Fox’s words. The illustrations have a nostalgic quality to them and they reminded me of classics from my own childhood. I just know this is a book that we will be rereading as my son gets older.

‘Early One Morning‘ is perfect for fans of ‘Who Sank The Boat‘ by Pamela Allen.

Just a few more titles by Mem Fox:

‘Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes’

‘The Tiny Star’

‘Possum Magic’

‘Time for Bed’

‘I’m Australian Too’

‘Bonnie and Ben Rhyme Again’

‘The Magic Hat’

‘Koala Lou’

‘Where is The Green Sheep?’

‘Good Night, Sleep Tight’

‘Ducks Away!’

‘Wilfrid Gordon Mcdonald Partridge’

Bio

Clare Mellor

Clare Mellor is a qualified librarian, a bookseller and now a full-time mum. She has a passion for picture books and growing her young son’s home library. She also adores middle grade fiction and has a particular soft spot for young adult fiction. When she isn’t thinking about books, she is happily matching her brooches with her favourite earrings! Clare’s bookstagram is @claremreads

Megan Daley Bio

Looking for more great book reviews and recommendations? I’m Megan Daley and you can find out more about me here.

My book recommendations (for babies to young adults) is here and you can peruse ALL of my reviews (searchable by age, genre and theme) here.

Check out my mini ebook, 'What to Read Next' or sign up for my FREE webinar, '3 Tips to Start the Best Book Club Ever'.

You might also like:

About Me

SOCIAL

Subscribe

RECENT BOOK ReVIEWS

Leave a Comment